Skip to main content

Discover the fascinating world of Leica.

On the trail of a legend.

Leica is not just a name, it's an entire world. A world full of fascination and passion, longevity and uncompromising engineering. A name that epitomizes "Made in Germany" photography.

Experience the strength, courage, ambition and enthusiasm that Leica stands for. Experience the heritage and milestones, the spirit and inspiration that made a legend out of a brand. In the Leica World. A warm welcome to you!

WOLRD OF LEICA
Daily, 10.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Please contact leicatour(at)leica-camera.com

The Leica Gallery.

At Leica, the image always takes center stage. That's why the first Leica Gallery, founded in Wetzlar in 1976, is one of the highlights of the Leica World. Located opposite Café Leitz, at the headquarters of Leica Camera AG, the gallery invites its visitors to experience exclusive exhibitions. Be inspired and even surprised by prominent works from famous national and international photographers and artists. The presentation of works from the Leica Oskar Barnack Award is an example of just one of our high-profile rotating exhibitions.

 

Exhibition "36 out of 100."

The "36 out of 100" exhibition mirrors an analog 35mm film: with 36 images from 100 years of Leica history. The 36 selected iconic Leica images have all made photographic history and helped to create the legend of the Leica brand.

All the photographs expressively illustrate 35mm photography's specific aesthetics. Outstanding photojournalism keeps history alive. The power of the image remains unchanged. Each photograph occupies a very special place in the respective artist's work. Aesthetically strong in terms of formality, well composed, complexly designed, surprising and amazing: these images make up our own unique visual memory. The memories of many generations. Photographs of the boxer Muhammad Ali or the revolutionary Ché Guevara. Images that can now never be forgotten—holding a permanent place in our collective minds.

Exhibition "17 out of 100."

This special exhibition presents 17 milestones from 100 years of sports optics. From 1920s binoculars and night-vision device prototypes to design drafts and special editions, a wide variety of exhibits await you here.

 

Milestones along the way.

This exhibition includes eleven cameras that are among Leica's most striking innovations. A groundbreaking journey through more than 100 years of company history: from Oskar Barnack's 1914 Ur-Leica to the 1954 Leica M3 and the 2009 Leica x1.

 

The Leica Manufactory.

A look inside the Manufactory gives you fascinating insights into the creation of Leica products. Experience how the unique interplay between outstanding engineering and precision craftsmanship combines to create the legendary Leica quality hallmark "Made in Germany."

Three large windows allow you to observe this craftsmanship in the making. Watch our employees as they process and assemble optical lenses or cameras. And as you do, enjoy the interactive elements around you—there to help you understand the individual steps involved in creating our Leica products.

Leica's corporate history.

Experience Leica's history—one that is essentially the history of photography itself—by making your way down a dedicated 17-meter-long corridor. Get to know pioneering personalities such as Carl Kellner, the founding father of the optical industry in Wetzlar, and Dr. Andreas Kaufmann, Chairman of the Supervisory Board to this day. Understand the historical and social context of their work. Discover camera innovations: from the Ur-Leica to the latest Leica M. A fascinating journey through more than 150 years of Leica company history awaits you.

Skip to main content

Entdecken Sie die faszinierende Welt von Leica.

Auf den Spuren einer Legende.

Leica ist nicht nur ein Name, sondern eine ganze Welt für sich. Eine Welt voll Faszination und Leidenschaft, Beständigkeit und kompromissloser Ingenieurskunst. Ein Name, der als Inbegriff für Fotografie „made in Germany“ steht.

Erleben Sie die Kraft und den Mut, die Leistungsfähigkeit und die Begeisterung, die hinter Leica stecken. Erleben Sie die Wurzeln und Meilensteine, den Geist und die Inspiration, die aus der Marke eine Legende formten. In der Leica Welt. Herzlich willkommen!

LEICA WELT
Täglich, 10.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Bitte wenden Sie sich an leicatour(at)leica-camera.com

Die Leica Galerie.

Das Bild steht bei Leica immer im Mittelpunkt. Deshalb zählt die erste, 1976 in Wetzlar gegründete Leica Galerie zu den Highlights in der Leica Welt. Gegenüber dem Café Leitz, am Hauptsitz der Leica Camera AG beheimatet, lädt die Galerie ihre Besucher zu exklusiven Ausstellungen ein. Lassen Sie sich von herausragenden Werken berühmter nationaler und internationaler Fotografen und Künstler inspirieren und immer wieder überraschen. So zählt zum Beispiel die Präsentation der Arbeiten für den Leica Oskar Barnack Award zu einer der hochkarätigen wechselnden Ausstellungen.

Ausstellung „36 aus 100“.

Die Ausstellung „36 aus 100“ gleicht einem analogen Kleinbildfilm: mit 36 Bildern aus 100 Jahren Geschichte von Leica. Die 36 ausgewählten ikonischen Leica Motive haben allesamt Fotografiegeschichte geschrieben und so den Mythos der Marke Leica mitbegründet.

Alle Aufnahmen veranschaulichen ausdrucksstark die spezifische Ästhetik der Kleinbildfotografie. Durch herausragende Reportagefotografie bleibt die Geschichte lebendig, die Macht der Bilder ist ungebrochen. Jedes für sich nimmt im Werk des jeweiligen Künstlers einen ganz besonderen Stellenwert ein. Formalästhetisch überzeugend, klar aufgebaut oder komplex gestaltet, überraschend und erstaunlich – kurz: Diese Bilder sind Teil unseres visuellen Gedächtnisses. Des Gedächtnisses vieler Generationen. Es sind Bilder wie das des Boxers Muhammad Ali oder des Revolutionärs Ché Guevara, die unvergessen bleiben und sich in unseren Köpfen festsetzen.

Ausstellung „17 aus 100“.

Die Sonderausstellung präsentiert 17 Meilensteine aus 100 Jahren Sportoptik. Von Ferngläsern aus den 1920er Jahren über Prototypen eines Nachtsichtgeräts bis hin zu Designentwürfen und Sonderserien erwarten Sie hier unterschiedlichste Exponate.

Meilensteine entlang des Wegs.

Diese Ausstellung umfasst elf Kameras, die zu den markanten Innovationen von Leica zählen. Eine wegweisende Reise durch über 100 Jahre Unternehmensgeschichte: Von Oskar Barnacks Ur-Leica aus dem Jahr 1914 über die Leica M3 von 1954 bis zur Leica x1 von 2009.

Die Leica Manufaktur.

Ein Blick in die Manufaktur eröffnet Ihnen faszinierende Einblicke in die Entstehung von Leica Produkten. Erleben Sie dort, wie sich das einzigartige Zusammenspiel von herausragender Ingenieurskunst und präziser Handarbeit im legendären Leica Qualitätsmerkmal „Made in Germany“ vereint.

An drei großen Fenstern haben Sie die Möglichkeit zu beobachten, mit welchem handwerklichen Geschick unsere Mitarbeiter optische Linsen verarbeiten und Objektive oder Kameras montieren. Sehen Sie bei der Entstehung von Leica Produkten zu, während Ihnen interaktive Elemente die einzelnen Arbeitsschritte detailliert erläutern.

Unternehmensgeschichte von Leica.

Erleben Sie entlang eines 17 Meter langen Gangs die Geschichte von Leica – die immer auch eine Geschichte der Fotografie war. Lernen Sie wegweisende Persönlichkeiten wie Carl Kellner, den Gründervater der optischen Industrie in Wetzlar, und Dr. Andreas Kaufmann, bis heute Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats, kennen und sehen Sie, in welchem historischen und gesellschaftlichen Kontext sie handelten. Entdecken Sie Kamerainnovationen: beginnend mit der Ur-Leica bis zur neuesten Leica M. Es erwartet Sie eine faszinierende Reise durch über 150 Jahre Unternehmensgeschichte von Leica.